Local SEND Reform Plans · 40 documents asked · 40 answered · 0 not stated · run 22 September 2026
When looking at post-16 further education, does the council name specific colleges or providers, with specific costs and dates for new places, and how they will be staffed?
Want a question surveyed?
Tell us the question and the set. A new survey takes a morning.
Ask for a surveyHow councils answer the post-16 question
Almost none of the plans give a full answer. Most councils talk about post-16 further education only in general terms: "colleges," "FE providers," or "post-16 partners" are mentioned as stakeholders to be consulted, but without names, costs, dates or staffing plans. Barnsley, Bournemouth, Brighton and Hove, Cambridgeshire, Coventry, Cumberland, Durham, Harrow, Hertfordshire, Hounslow, Leeds, Norfolk, North Northamptonshire, Nottingham, Reading, Rochdale, Shropshire, Slough, South Tyneside, Staffordshire, Wigan, Wirral, Wolverhampton and Worcestershire all follow this pattern, often promising future mapping, partnership groups or commissioning work rather than concrete plans.
A handful of councils stand out for naming actual institutions. South Gloucestershire names South Gloucestershire and Stroud College plus out-of-area options (Bath College, Bristol City College), with two dated projects (Autumn 2026, September 2026) but no costs. Stoke-on-Trent names three providers (City of Stoke 6th Form, Newfriars College, Fenton College) with phased dates across 2026/27–2027/28, again without costs. East Sussex names Southfield Trust and Glyne Gap School, with 70 new places specified but no costs. Bury and Solihull each name a single site (Elms Bank; Solihull College) with dates but no figures. Bath and North East Somerset names Bath College only generically.
Kingston upon Thames is the clear standout on numbers: it names Orchard Hill College and Academy Trust, with a £5.295m capital allowance, roughly £1m from a site sale, and £500k from the provider itself, alongside a 2028/29 decision date—the most detailed cost breakdown of any council, though staffing is still unspecified.
Somerset gives cost benchmarks (£74,000 vs £30,000 vs £17,000 per placement type) and a named site (Cannington, September 2026), but not post-16-specific costs.
No council fully answers with named colleges, specific costs, dates, and staffing all together. Staffing detail is essentially absent everywhere except vague references to workforce planning or single roles (e.g. Somerset's SALT practitioners, South Gloucestershire's Alternative Provision Lead).
Not stated: Barnsley, Bournemouth Christchurch and Poole, Brighton and Hove, Bristol, Bromley, Cambridgeshire, Cornwall, Coventry, Cumberland, Dorset, Durham, Harrow, Hertfordshire, Hounslow, Isle of Wight, Leeds, Norfolk, North Northamptonshire, Nottingham, Oxfordshire, Reading, Richmond upon Thames, Rochdale, Shropshire, Slough, South Tyneside, Staffordshire, Wigan, Wirral, Wolverhampton, Worcestershire.
About this survey
The question was put to each document on its own, using up to six of its most relevant pages. Page numbers in the table link to the document itself.
Model claude-sonnet-5. How a survey is made.
Every document's answer
Barnsley
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers, nor does it give specific costs, dates, or staffing plans for new post-16 places. It only mentions that further education (FE) colleges will receive advice and direct support funded through the Experts at Hand Transformation Fund, with a 2026/27 allocation of £1,865,588 for Barnsley p57, without further detail.
Bath and North East Somerset
The plan names only Bath College, described as "B&NES' only FE college," where a Post-16 OAP workshop for young people will be delivered p6. It does not name other specific colleges or providers, nor give specific costs or dates for new post-16 places. Staffing is described generally—targeted workforce development including training, coaching and specialist advice for post-16 providers—but without specific numbers or roles tied to particular colleges p8.
Bournemouth, Christchurch & Poole
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It refers only generally to post-16 as a key transition risk point requiring earlier planning p10 and mentions post-16 within broader 0-25 place sufficiency strategies p15. Funding references, such as the £9.2m DfE allocation for specialist school places and general high needs capital of £3 billion (2026-30), cover the 0-25 age range broadly but do not specify post-16 providers, costs, dates, or staffing (page 19, page 60).
Brighton and Hove
No. The plan refers only generally to "mainstream post-16 and further education providers" and "post-16/FE settings" being engaged and represented within governance structures, without naming specific colleges (page 1, page 4). It gives no specific costs or dates for new post-16 places, and no staffing details specific to FE providers—costs and staffing figures given (e.g. EAH grant sums, EPs starting September 2026) relate to SEND workforce generally, not named colleges p3.
Bristol
No. The excerpts focus on schools (e.g., Trym Valley Free School, Claremont, Briarwood South) with capital costs of £53.1m for 569 places by 2030 p36, but they do not name specific post-16 further education colleges or providers, nor give specific costs, dates, or staffing plans for new post-16 FE places. Transition support is mentioned only generally via Year 9 annual reviews p7.
Bromley
No, the excerpts do not name specific post-16 colleges or FE providers, nor give costs, dates, or staffing plans for new post-16 places. The plan mentions engaging "FE and post-16 providers" as stakeholders p49, but this is only a prompt for engagement planning, not a detailed provision plan. Capital and place-expansion details given relate to mainstream schools and special schools (e.g., Rivermead Inclusive Trust satellite sites), not further education colleges (page 96, page 48).
Bury
No. The plan names one specific post-16 facility, Elms Bank, describing a "permanent post-16 specialist facility" replacing temporary arrangements p36, but gives no cost figures, opening dates, or staffing plans. Other post-16 references are general—colleges, sixth forms and independent training providers engaged via consultation—without naming specific institutions, costs, timelines, or staffing arrangements (page 38, page 35).
Cambridgeshire
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or post-16 providers. It refers generally to "closer partnership working with employers, post-16 providers, adult services and transport planning" p43 and states capital funding covers "the full 0-25 age range, including early years and post-16" p59, but gives no named institutions, no specific costs for post-16 places, no dates, and no staffing plans for post-16 provision.
Cornwall
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education places. It notes post-16 SEND spend is roughly 50% above statistical neighbours p13, and that specialist post-16 institution placements will be "capped at 90 from 2027 onwards" p13, but gives no specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing plans tied to named colleges. General references mention expanding Area Resource Bases in colleges p45 and a Post-16 Inclusion Pathway with staff training p19, without specifics.
Coventry
No. The plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It states a Post-16 SEND Partnership Group was established in Summer 2026, involving colleges, adult education and supported internship providers, to co-produce the local response, "including any capital requirements for FE settings, to be confirmed" (page 23; page 21). No specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing arrangements are given.
Cumberland
No. The plan describes intentions to invest in specialist inclusion bases for post-16 settings and to engage further education and post-16 providers, including those outside Cumberland, through commissioning arrangements and the Experts at Hand model (page 35, page 38). However, it does not name specific colleges, nor give specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing plans for post-16 provision (page 34, page 35).
Dorset
No. The plan does not name specific colleges or FE providers, nor does it give specific costs or dates for new post-16 places, beyond referring generally to "schools and FE colleges" p14. It commits to a future "dedicated post-16 sufficiency analysis" and "full commissioning proposal" including procurement arrangements and provider specifications, but this is still to be undertaken p27. Staffing plans mention two Advanced SALT Practitioners (Band 8a) developed in 2026, but not college-specific staffing p14.
Durham
No. The plan describes engaging post-16 and further education providers through existing commissioning relationships and regional partnerships p16, and states that additional specialist post-16 places will be "targeted and evidence-based" and linked to sufficiency data p14, but it does not name specific colleges, give costs, dates, or staffing details for new post-16 places.
East Sussex
The council names two specific providers: Southfield Trust, delivering 70 new post-16 places at Summerdown School via joint capital investment p22, and Glyne Gap School, where plans are underway to secure a new site for its post-16 provision before its current lease expires in 2029 p22. No specific costs are given for either project, and staffing details are not specified for these post-16 places p22. Broader FE/college work is described only generally through the Sussex Post-16 SEND Group and college UAP training p11, without named colleges, costs, or staffing.
Hackney
No named colleges or providers with specific costs are given. The plan mentions New Regent's College as PRU partner p60 but does not cost it. It commits to a 48-place Specialist Hub and 32-place Support Base "by 2029" p60, staffed via multi-year Service Level Agreements enabling providers "to recruit highly specialised workforces," though delivery depends on site feasibility and no budget figures are stated p60.
Harrow
No. The plan only commits to mapping local and out-of-area post-16 pathways and identifying gaps in provision, progression routes and employment opportunities, and reviewing supported internship capacity and employer engagement to "inform future expansion plans" p40. It does not name specific colleges or providers, nor give specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing details for post-16 further education p40.
Hertfordshire
No named colleges or providers are given. The plan states only that "up to 100 additional specialist post-16 places will also be created within the college sector" generally p37, with no specific costs or dates attached. Staffing is addressed only generically, noting the partnership will "baseline the workforce capacity and capability required" and use phased workforce planning p18, without naming specific staff numbers or roles for post-16 college provision.
Hounslow
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It commits to 200 additional post-16 places, to be delivered by 2028/29 as part of the "full sufficiency programme" p20, and notes these places address needs like therapeutic environments and "specialist staffing that cannot be consistently delivered within mainstream inclusion bases" p34, but no costs, named institutions, or specific staffing plans are given.
Isle of Wight
No. The plan only names "IW College" generically as a partner receiving Experts at Hand support alongside specialist staff p13, and refers broadly to "colleges, training providers and apprenticeship providers" without naming specific institutions p34. It notes plans to expand post-16 specialist bases due to rising demand p123, but gives no specific costs, opening dates, or staffing details tied to named post-16 providers.
Kingston upon Thames
The council names Orchard Hill College and Academy Trust (OHCAT) as the partner to relocate to the former Surbiton Primary Academy site, with a £5.295m High Needs Capital allowance, ~£1m expected from selling the Beaconsfield site, and £500k committed by OHCAT p49. A final decision/business case is due in 2028/29 p25, with negotiations progressing in 2026/27–2027/28 p24. No specific staffing details or opening date are given p49.
Leeds
No. The plan discusses post-16 further education only in general terms, such as developing "post-16 pathways" and improving commissioning arrangements with post-16 providers to reduce reliance on out-of-area placements p21, and working with "the further education sector" to design an offer for colleges p40. It references a "£3 billion" high needs capital fund for 2026-30 covering post-16 among other phases p61, but names no specific colleges, costs, dates, or staffing plans for new post-16 places.
Norfolk
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education, nor give specific costs or dates for new places or staffing details. It states Norfolk has only one specialist post-16 setting with no plans to expand capacity p191, and explicitly confirms no capital investment or specific case for post-16 expansion is set out in the 26-27 plan p171. Post-16 issues are described as being addressed through general work "with providers and DfE" rather than named institutions p171.
North Northamptonshire
No. The plan describes prioritising investment in inclusion bases within mainstream settings, including post-16 providers, and expanding local FE/post-16 provision generally p46, but it does not name specific colleges or providers, nor give specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing plans for post-16 further education (page 46, page 33).
Nottingham
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It refers generally to delivery through "maintained schools, multi-academy trusts, early years providers and FE colleges" p68 and mentions "24 places" of sixth form specialist provision available from September 2026 p45, but gives no named institutions, detailed costs, or specific staffing plans—only a commitment to "cost and develop plan for workforce needed" p46.
Oxfordshire
The plan refers only generically to "our three FE colleges in Oxfordshire" and mentions new provision growth in Didcot and Faringdon, without naming specific colleges (page 10, page 24). No specific costs are given beyond a general "2026/27 allocation" for inclusion bases, with years 2 and 3 funding phases p24. Staffing details are not specified for post-16 provision specifically; workforce plans described are general, not tied to named colleges or costed posts p18.
Reading
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It refers generally to a "Thames Valley Footprint around Further Education" p23 and plans to complete "shared FE mapping" and develop a "coherent pathway" p29, but gives no specific provider names, costs, opening dates, or staffing arrangements. Capital funding of at least £3 billion is mentioned for high needs places 2026-27 to 2029-30 across the 0-25 range, but not broken down by named FE provider or staffing plan p36.
Richmond upon Thames
No. The plan does not name specific post-16 further education colleges with costs and staffing details. It only states an intention to "work with further education colleges to expand their vocational offers" via new qualifications like V-levels and pre-internships, and to plan for "local maintained Post-19 SPLD provision" by 2027/28 p31. No specific college names, costs, or staffing plans are given; concrete named projects with dates (e.g., Clarendon/Strathmore satellites) relate to ages 4–19, not exclusively post-16 (page 21, page 43).
Rochdale
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or post-16 providers, nor does it give specific costs or opening dates for new post-16 places or staffing plans. It only notes generally that "sufficiency will be strong across all phases, including... post-16 provision" p9, that SLT capacity "does not reach into... Secondary/Post-16 and needs to increase" p61, and mentions allocating "named officer/therapist" support for young people out of area for post-16 providers p51, without further detail.
Shropshire
No. The plan states post-16 plans are "not yet finalised," with a meeting of mainstream post-16 providers planned for June to co-produce the post-16 element of the sufficiency strategy p27. No specific colleges or named providers are identified, and no specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing details for post-16 provision are given; delivery is described generally as being progressed "with maintained schools, academies, colleges and trusts" p27.
Slough
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education. It only refers generally to "post-16 capacity options" and "post-16 provision priorities" to be identified and progressed p47, with plans to engage "post-16 providers" in identifying estate opportunities p47. No specific costs, dates for new post-16 places, or staffing arrangements are given; capital spend and schemes are described as still needing formal confirmation p33.
Solihull
The plan names only Solihull College, stating support bases will be created there alongside 14 secondary and 10 primary schools "by 2029" p3. It does not give specific costs for post-16 places, nor detail on staffing for the college provision. Post-16 providers are mentioned only generally, as one group to be increasingly involved in local SEND decision-making p5. No further colleges, providers, costs, dates, or staffing details for post-16 further education are given.
Somerset
The plan names only one specific post-16 site: a new specialist base opening in Cannington in September 2026, intended to reduce reliance on independent placements and EOTAS p40. It gives an overall target of 432 new specialist places by 2029/30 and cost benchmarks (e.g., £74,000 for independent placements vs £30,000 for local special schools vs £17,000 for inclusion bases) (page 17, page 38), but no other named colleges, no post-16-specific costs, and no details on staffing for post-16 provision.
South Gloucestershire
The plan names South Gloucestershire and Stroud College (SGS), plus out-of-area options like Bath College and Bristol City College p44, and mentions a Digital AP Skills Centre in Kingswood opening Autumn 2026 and a Creative Digital Technologies Centre offering two-year placements from September 2026 (page 44; page 43). However, no specific costs are given, and staffing details are limited to committing to recruit an Alternative Provision Lead p43. No overall budget figures for new post-16 places are stated.
South Tyneside
No. The plan describes post-16 placements only in general terms, projecting an increase from 16.7% (2025) to 18.8% (2028) p12, and references collaborating with "colleges" broadly to develop inclusion bases and considering post-16 ARB/SEN Unit capacity expansion p46. It does not name specific colleges or providers, give specific costs, set dates for new places, or explain staffing arrangements for post-16 further education.
Staffordshire
No, the plan does not name specific colleges or providers for post-16 further education, nor give specific costs or dates for new places, nor detail staffing. It refers generally to engaging "alternative provision, FE and post-16 providers" through forums and commissioning discussions p88, and to expanding Enhanced Resource Bases with consideration given to "post 16" p32, and to a new special school for 5-16 year-olds p32, but without naming institutions, costs, or staffing plans.
Stoke-on-Trent
Some post-16 providers are named, such as City of Stoke 6th Form (Manor Site), Newfriars College, and Fenton College, with steps like feasibility/planning and expansion of placements dated across 2026/27 and 2027/28 p22. However, no specific per-place or per-project costs are given, and staffing plans are not detailed beyond general references to workforce development and an ICB Advanced Practitioner role p18. Overall, cost and staffing detail for post-16 FE expansion is not clearly stated.
Wigan
No, the excerpts do not name specific colleges or providers, nor give specific costs or dates for new post-16 places, nor detail staffing plans. They only mention that OAIP will be embedded across all settings "including post-16" by 2027/28 p31 and reference "post-16 transitions" as a dependency requiring stronger Year 9–post-16 transition pathways through joint commissioning p52, without further specifics.
Wirral
No. The plan only states that "the local college is already working with the authority to develop in-Borough solutions" p17, and that "particular focus will be given to addressing gaps in post-16 provision" p50. It does not name specific colleges or providers, nor give specific costs, dates for new places, or staffing details for post-16 further education.
Wolverhampton
No. The plan only refers generally to "local colleges and FE providers" and "out-of-area colleges" without naming specific institutions (page 20, page 5). It states commissioners "will continue to work with local colleges and FE providers to ensure sufficient provision is available for post-16 students" p20, but gives no specific costs, place numbers, delivery dates, or staffing plans for post-16 provision.
Worcestershire
No, the excerpts do not name specific colleges or FE providers, nor give specific costs, dates, or staffing plans for new post-16 places. They only mention engaging "FE and post-16 providers (including those your young people attend that are not within your local area)" through existing routes like SENCO networks and partnership events, and using such provider relationships to support transition planning, local sufficiency and preparation for adulthood p29.
Want a question surveyed?
Tell us the question and the set. A new survey takes a morning.